Dreaming about Chords

ACCESS PURCHASE
Students and scholars can access articles for free via Project Muse.

Dreaming about Chords

by Aaron Smithers
Southern Cultures, Vol. 16, No. 3: Roots Music

Music Issue Companion CD

Track List

1| “The Early Bird Always Gets the Worm” MICHAEL HURLEY 3:13

Face a Frowning World: An E. C. Ball Memorial Album, Tompkins Square, tompkinssquare.com, snockonews.net

2| “Walking Jaybird” ETTA BAKER 2:40

Banjo, Music Maker, musicmaker.org

3| “Birmingham Is My Home” BIRMINGHAM HERITAGE BAND 7:32

Composer Amos Gordon, arranger Sammy Love, band leader Frank Adams, Birmingham is Our Home, Alabama Jazz Hall of Fame. jazzhall.com

4| “They used to use a pocket knife. . .” BUKKA WHITE 2:48

Interview by David Johnson, Beverly, Massachusetts, 1976; courtesy of David Johnson

5| “The Mighty Flood” ALABAMA SLIM AND LITTLE FREDDIE KING 3:43

The Mighty Flood, Music Maker, musicmaker.org, littlefreddieking.com

6| “Lord, I’m in Your Care” ROYAL JUBILEE GOSPEL SINGERS 3:24

Recorded by Michael Taylor at the home of Otis Jones, Roanoke Rapids, North Carolina, 20 February 2010; courtesy of Michael Taylor, the Royal Jubilee Gospel Singers, and Warren County Memorial Library

7| “Pick Me Up” FILTHYBIRD 2:49

Songs for Other People, Holidays for Quince, holidaysforquince.com, filthybird.com

8| “I Got a Woman” THE CONSTELLATIONS 1:28

David Lee / Active Music ASCAP, paradiseofbachelors.com

9| “Your Wagon Needs Greasing” THE HUSHPUPPIES 3:43

Homestead on the Farm, Old 97 Wrecords, old97wrecords.com, thehushpuppies.com

10| “My God Is Real” JOE BROWN AND THE SINGING MELLERAIRS 2:39

David Lee / Washington Sound ASCAP, paradiseofbachelors.com

11| “Just As I Am Without One Plea” PHILADELPHIA AND HOLLOW SPRINGS PRIMITIVE BAPTIST CHURCHES 3:43

Recorded by Eddie Huffman at Philadelphia Primitive Baptist Church in Caldwell County, North Carolina, 16 July 2006; courtesy of Eddie Huffman and the congregation of Philadelphia and Hollow Springs Primitive Baptist Churches

12| “Untitled” IDYLL SWORDS 4:02

Purposeful Availment, Three Lobed Recordings, threelobed.com, cirrusoxide.com

13| “Don’t Let Him Ride” MISSISSIPPI NIGHTINGALES 3:19

Fire in My Bones: Raw + Rare + Otherworldly African American Gospel, 1944-2007, Tompkins Square, tompkinssquare.com

14| “We Are Lumbee” LUMBEE 4:54

Recorded live at the Pink Pussycat Lounge, Fayetteville, North Carolina, 1970; courtesy of Willie French Lowery, willielowery.com

15| “Dreaming about the guitar. . .” PRESTON FULP 3:47

Sawmill Worker, Lucky Guitar Music / Music Maker, musicmaker.org

16| “Cindy” PRESTON FULP 3:47

Sawmill Worker, Lucky Guitar Music / Music Maker, musicmaker.org

17| “Kaufman’s Ballad” MEGAFAUN 3:56

Gather, Form & Fly, Hometapes, home-tapes.com, megafaun.com

18| “Wauhatchie Yards” HAMPER MCBEE 3:05

The Good, Old-Fashioned Way, Twos & Fews / Drag City, dragcity.com, roothogordie.wordpress.com

19| “Going Crazy Over T.V.” JIMMY ANDERSON AND THE MOJO BLUES BAND 3:15

Blues Parade 2000, Styx Records, styxrecords.com, mojobluesband.com, myspace.com/soulmanlee

20| “In the Evenin'” ROGER MCGUINN 2:24

Home recording, 1957, from Folk Den: Roger McGuinn in the Folk Tradition, Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0, folkden.com, mcguinn.com

 


RUNNING TIME 67:16

COMPILED BY Aaron Smithers

MASTERED BY Aaron Smithers and John Loy at the Southern Folklife Collection

 

Special thanks to Steve Weiss, Head, UNC’s Southern Folklife Collection.