Loving, Leaving, Liquor, and the Lord: Songs in the Southern Vernacular

ACCESS PURCHASE
Students and scholars can access articles for free via Project Muse.

Loving, Leaving, Liquor, and the Lord: Songs in the Southern Vernacular

by Aaron Smithers
Southern Cultures, Vol. 17, No. 4: Music

Music Issue Companion CD

Spanning a century, and offered by musicians from Texas to Tennessee, these are songs about murder and memory, songs asking for mercy. In short, these are songs about living.

Track  List

1| “Salvation Song” THE AVETT BROTHERS 4:48

Mignonette, Ramseur Records, theavettbrothers.com, ramseurrecords.net

2| “This is Everybody’s Song” BISHOP MANNING AND THE MANNING FAMILY 3:10

Converted Mind: The Early Recordings, Big Legal Mess, biglegalmessrecords.com

3| “Red Rocking Chair” DOC AND MERLE WATSON 2:07

Red Rocking Chair, Flying Fish, docsguitar.com, folkloreproductions.com

4| “These August Days” THE SMALL PONDS 5:38

The Small Ponds, Last Chance Records, courtesy of Matt Douglas and Caitlin Cary, thesmallponds.com, lastchancerecords.com

5| “Cricket on the Hearth” BENTON FLIPPEN & THE SMOKEY VALLEY BOYS 3:11

Fiddler’s Dream, Music Maker Relief Foundation, musicmaker.org

6| “Campanitas de Amor” RETOÑO 2:45

Campanitas de Amor, Tex-Mex Records, myspace.com/gruporetono, texmexrecords.net

7| “Alabama Jubilee” BEN HALL 2:16

Ben Hall, Tompkins Square, benhallmusic.net, tompkinssquare.com

8| “I Can’t Believe You Gone” DAVID LEE 2:16

45 RPM recording, SCOP Records, courtesy of Paradise of Bachelors, paradiseofbachelors.com

9| “Bearsville Rock” NOTHING AND THE NO NAMES 1:45

45 RPM recording, Brenda Records, courtesy of Manford Harper and Harley Lyles of Indigo and Iodine Records

10| “Web in Front” ARCHERS OF LOAF 2:05

Icky Mettle (Remastered), courtesy of Merge Records, archersofloaf.net, mergerecords.com

11| “Sought & Hidden” NATHAN SALSBURG 3:12

Affirmed, CD / LP available November 2011 on No Quarter Records, noquarter.net

12| “Mountain on the Stormy Deep” ERNEST STONEMAN AND MISS IRMA FROST 3:13

The Bristol Sessions 1927-1928: The Big Bang of Country Music, 5-CD boxed set with 120-page hardcover book, Bear Family Records, bear-family.com

13| “Down in the Willow Garden” BESSIE RABB 2:08

Old-Time Smoky Mountain Music: 34 historic songs, ballads, and instrumentals recorded in the Great Smoky Mountains by “Song Catcher” Joseph S. Hall, Great Smoky Mountains Association, thegreatsmokymountains.org

14| “Can I Sleep in Your Barn Tonight, Mister?” SPENCER MOORE 3:33

Spencer Moore, Tompkins Square, tompkinssquare.com

15| “Baby Please Don’t Go” KENNY BROWN 4:16

Can’t Stay Long [Disc 1], Devil Down Records, devildownrecords.com

16| “Father, I Stretch My Hand to Thee” UNION CHAPEL COMMUNITY BAPTIST CHURCH CONGREGATION, LED BY PASTOR JIMMY STRICKLAND AND SISTER FLORA JONES 4:01

Lumbee sacred music recorded by James Finnegan, July 17, 2011, Pembroke, North Carolina, Sounds of the South Award for Undergraduate Research, Center for the Study of the American South, uncsouth.org

17| “The World that Died” STRATEGY FEATURING IVAN R. STURDIVANT 3:35

45 RPM recording, Strategy Records, courtesy of Carolina Soul, carolinasoul.org

18| “The Saddest Affair” FELIX OBELIX 4:14

The Tick of the Clock, The Beat in the Chest, Pox World Empire, felixobelix.com, poxworldempire.org

19| “Devil of Love” CURT MOORE 2:52

45 RPM recording, Curt’s Records, courtesy of Curt Moore and Carolina Soul, carolinasoul.org

20| “A Little Bit of Mercy” CAROLINE HERRING 3:58

Golden Apples of the Sun, Signature Sounds, carolineherring.com, signaturesounds.com

21| “Old Corn Liquor” CAROLINA CHOCOLATE DROPS WITH JOE THOMPSON AND BOB CARLIN 4:01

Carolina Chocolate Drops & Joe Thompson, Music Maker Relief Foundation, carolinachocolatedrops.com, musicmaker.org

22| “I’ll Be Gone” LAST YEAR’S MEN 1:53

Sunny Down Snuff, Churchkey Records, facebook.com/lastyearsmen, churchkeyrecords.com


 

RUNNING TIME 70:46

MASTERED BY Aaron Smithers and John Loy at the Southern Folklife Collection

Special thanks to Steve Weiss, Head, UNC’s Southern Folklife Collection